top of page
  • Africauptodate

South Africa Ratifies AfCFTA

On December 4, 2018 South Africa's parliament approved the treaty establishing African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).

AfCFTA was launched in Kigali, Rwanda on July 1, 2018, at the 31st Ordinary Summit of the African Union (AU). Out of 55 member states of the AU, 49 have signed the treaty. However, for the treaty to come to force, 22 member states have to ratify it. So far, only ten countries have done so including South Africa. The other nine countries that have ratified the treaty are: Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Ghana, iSwatini (formerly Swaziland), Niger, Chad, Guinea Conakry, and Sierra Leone.

_________________________ © 2015 - 2018 Africa Up To Date. All Rights Reserved

bottom of page