top of page
  • Africauptodate

Ethiopia Adopts Visa-On-Arrival Policy For All Africans

Ethiopia has adopted a visa-on-arrival policy for all citizens of member states of the African Union (AU), reported African media on November 2, 2018.

The policy is asid to have been officially adopted in a ceremony held at the AU headquarters in Addis Ababa, on November 2, 2018, and attended by Ethiopia's foreign minister Hirut Zemene and AU chairperson Moussa Faki Mahamat. The policy will come into effect in a week's time, on November 9, 2018.

The Ethiopia's policy is in accordance with AU's Agenda 2063 that urges all its member states to introduce visa-on-arrival for all Africans by 2063, as a measure for ensuring free movement of people and trade hence a peaceful and economically integrated Africa.

Notwithstanding, so far, besides Ethiopia now, only three other African countries have adopted visa-on-arrival or no visa policies for Africans. They are Seychelles with no visa required, Kenya with no visa as well as visa-on-arrival, and Rwanda with visa-on-arrival.

_________________________ © 2015 - 2018 Africa Up To Date. All Rights Reserved

bottom of page