top of page
  • Africauptodate

Thabane's ABC Wins Lesotho's Snap General Elections

Updated: Aug 21, 2021

Africa | Lesotho June 9, 2017

Former prime minister of Lesotho, Mr Thomas Thabane's All Basotho Convention, ABC, won Lesotho's snap 2017 General Elections that were held on June 3, 2017, according to election results released on June 6, 2017. Mr Thabane political party won 48 parliamentary seats out of 120, while the incumbent prime minister, Dr Pakalitha Mosisili's Democratic Congress, won 30 seats. Dr Mosisili is reported to have conceded defeat and resigned, implying that Mr Thabane can now form a new government peacefully on this occasion. However, as Mr Thabane will not have outright majority in parliament, the ABC has said he will form a coalition government. ________________ © 2015 - 2017 Africauptodate. All Rights Reserved

bottom of page